35-jähriges Jubiläum35-Year Anniversary

35-Year Anniversary

of Anne-Sophie Mutter's Debut in Japan

With the following personal words on the 35-year anniversary of her Japanese debut in 1981, Anne-Sophie Mutter addresses her audience directly:

Dear Concertgoers,

I am looking forward immensely to giving concerts again for my fans in Japan: exactly 35 years ago I first had the great fortune to make music for this wonderful audience – for my Japanese debut, I performed Beethoven’s Violin Concerto with Herbert von Karajan and the Berlin Philharmonic. From the very first moment, Japan’s rich culture and its incredibly well-educated people fascinated me, creating a strong bond between us. During the past decades, I was able to study Kabuki, Sumo culture and the Zen gardens, for example, first-hand in Japan. The art of gardening as an expression of Japanese philosophy impressed me profoundly – I might even say it overwhelmed me to such an extent that I have had a Japanese garden planted at home. I am particularly proud of my 50-year-old bonsai from Kyoto which now lives in the Austrian mountains, together with a Sakura tree!

For my 35-year anniversary, I have selected a broad range of repertoire – from the baroque to our present times. For this special occasion, I have also added Toru Takemitsu’s Nostalghia to my repertoire – I cannot convey in words my happiness that the wonderful Maestro Seiji Ozawa will conduct the Vienna Philharmonic in this work.

My long-time musical partner Lambert Orkis also joins me in Japan again – in the 28th year of our collaboration, we will perform works by Currier, Mozart, Respighi and Saint-Saëns in Tokyo.

Three compositions featuring in my anniversary concerts will be performed in Japan for the first time: the first is En Rêve by Norbert Moret, complementing Takemitsu’s Violin Concerto with its colourful and poetic nature. On this evening with the New Japan Philharmonic under the baton of Maestro Cristian Macelaru, you will also hear Brahms’ Violin Concerto and another Japanese premiere: La Follia for solo violin by Krzysztof Penderecki. With his choice of title, Penderecki continues the baroque tradition of artful, virtuoso variations on a saraband theme. Nine times he reworks the motif, which is first introduced in a pizzicato, then in a bowed version, making use of every technical possibility the violin has to offer.

The third Japanese premiere is the Nonet for Two String Quartets and Double Bass by Sir André Previn, which I commissioned from the composer for the concerts of Mutter’s Virtuosi.

It is one of my heartfelt wishes to introduce the Japanese audience to my soloist ensemble Mutter’s Virtuosi: these young musicians come from all over the world and are full of ideas and ideals of how music can change society for the better. Therefore, I am particularly pleased that some of Japan’s best string players will join us for our concerts with the Virtuosi. I am planning to take a more active role in music education in Japan in the future. For ultimately, our goal is to find and encounter each other in music, to let music build bridges – transcending all cultural differences and ideological or religious dogmas which may stand between us.

Anne-Sophie Mutter


1981年のデビュー以来、日本デビュー35周年を迎えるアンネ=ゾフィー・ムターより日本のお客様に心よりメッセージをお送りいたします。 MORE [+]

*** printFooter ***